High Commission of the Republic of Mozambique

Cabo Delgado

Cabo Delgado is the home of the Makonde ethnic group originally concentrated in the Mueda plateau. They are a people with very strong, unique culture with a natural talent for wood and ivory carving. They still practice their ancestral customs such as ritual tattooing and teeth filing.


General Description
Surface area: 82,625 km2 including 4,758 km2 of inland waters.
Situation: Northeast extremity of the country
Geographical limits:
The Rovuma river forms the national border with the United Republic of Tanzania.
South: The Lúrio river separates Cabo Delgado from the province of Nampula.
West: (from north to south) the Lugenda,Cuambeze, Kuaca and Mewo rivers
that establish the border with the province of Niassa.
East: The Indian Ocean along a 425 km coast line.
Climate: The annual average temperature is 26º C.
Population: 1.540.000 inhabitants 51 % of which are women.
• Portuguese - is the official language
• Macua, Makonde, Kimwane, Swahili, Ajaua, Macue e Ingoni
Major products:
• marble
• clay
• Graphite
• precious woods.
This province offers extraordinarily beautiful beaches with emerald green waters, reefs and deep Blue Ocean. The Quirimba Archipelago which was in the past a major slave trafficking centre has now become a national conservation reserve.

Points of note about the Province
• It is the cradle of the Makonde nation ;
• Is a great production centre of marble and precious woods;
• The Quirimba Islands at present a national park was in the past a great centre for slave trafficking.

What to visit
The northern coast of Mozambique has been throughout the centuries a place where different cultures merged and have left their imprint. This cultural heritage allied to the natural beauty of the landscape and the magnificence of its beaches is obvious attractions to a visitor.

Historical and Tourist Sites:

City of Pemba
Historical sites:
Down town, Fort Romero and Fort Paquitequete.
Tourist Attractions: Wimbe beach, the lighthouse, Petromoc, Inos, Maringanha,Chibuabuar and Chuiba.
The District of Palma
Historical sites: Tungai and Mbwezi ruins (ruins of the palace of the sultan of Mascar) and the ruins at Vamize Island.
Tourist Attractions: The lighthouse, Pundanhar,Mandinba, Nhica do Rovuma, the Rovuma river basin, Nhika do Rovuma’s lagoon, Quiomba lagoon (rich in wildlife), and the Ngogi,Ulumbe and Senga beaches.

The District of Nangane
Historical sites:
Lishonde mountains, the 25th of June monument (starting point for for the torch of unity, Nangade social centre, Lupudi boarding school, Nagade crèche and Januário Pedro’s tomb.
Tourist Attractions: Nangade lagoon, the Rovuma river, Lidede lagoon, the Beira military base, 25th September village, Namiuine village and the Nangade social centre.

The District of Mocímboa da Praia
Historical sites: Mocímboa Velha (slave trading), the wall erected to commemorate the 17 Frelimo soldiers killed during the National Liberation struggle, Natuco singumbaia, Inhambane and Metangula military bases, Mpanga (forced labour camp),muengue (place where the torch of liberty was received), Ntende (site of the killing of many Mozambicans suspected of carrying Frelimo party cards).
Monuments: Nalole house and square, 25th September monument at Buji (where 17 Frelimo soldiers were killed in action in 1969).

The District of Mueda
Historical sites:
Namachakole trench (Lilondo suburb), the tombs of 11 Frelimo fighters killed in combat at Negomano, tombs of 43 Frelimo fighters killed at Nacatar, Chilindi (site of a popular rally led by the President of Frelimo, Eduardo Chivambo Mondlane at Namatil (Ornar post).
Tourist attractions: Negomano headquarters and Namachakole trench.
Monuments: Monument in honour of the martyrs of the Mueda massacre.

The District of Muidumbe
Historical sites: Kunanyoka Mountain (site of a landslide in 24.03.1966), Nangololo – first mission on the Makonde plateau and Mozambique Base – central headquarters of Frelimo.
Tourist attractions: Nguri lagoon, Mozambique Base.

The District of Macomia
Historical sites:
site of the massacre at Nkusha, Chai Administrative Post, Maputo Base, Gaza Base, Mozambicam Heroes Square.
Tourist attractions: Pangane, Messano and Goludo beaches.
Religious sites: Bangala1 (Namanjalani and Nanga.
The District of Melico
Historical sites: Manica Base, Nkukutuko – site where PIDE/DGS buried people alive, Unamapwe.
Tourist attractions: the Kwei mountain, theKwero Mountain, Tipamoko, Unlukuni.

The District of Ancuabe
Historical sites:
Mesa Mountain (natural rock flat areas) and the mission of the Immaculate Heart of Mariri.
Tourist attractions: Ngura Nlopa, Miegane (Rati), Santo Isidro village (old Namahora dam site – Nsanja village.

The District of Ibo
Historical sites:
the fort of São José
Tourist attractions: Inlamba odi, Nantutu (bat-rock – Matemo), Munawe (islet), Kunkuba (Materno).
Monuments: the Independence Square at the Mujaca lighthouse.
Package tours: Quirimba Archipelago (islands of Rolas, Materno, Ibo, Quirimba, Sencar and Kili ).

The District of Quissanga
Historical sites: Báswara (first known human settlement in the region), Bilibiza lagoon and the village of Nhara.
Tourist attractions: Mefunvo, Quipeco, Quiziwi, Arimba Tandanhangue, Quissanga beach.
Tradicional dances: Dikiri, Kirimo, Tufo, Limbodo, Baleto,Chimbambanda,Macussannya, Mapiko, Nampara, Makorokoto, Bampi, Rumba, nchaila, Herekeze, Kkola and Nihere.

The District of Pemba – Metuge
Historical sites: Pampira-londo fountain.
Tourist attractions: Bandar beach, Mweve and Namau.
The District of Mecufi
Historical sites: Ingonane wall ruins (whose foundations were according to local lore laid by an angel called Muanadi) and Ngomene (slave port).
Tourist attractions: Peponi beach, Murewe, Mecufi village, Sambene wetlands (with a number of small-sized species), Continuadores beach and Murrebwe.

The District of Chiure
Historical sites: Oporokumassi, old Mosque at Chiure-Velho.
Tourist attractions: the Lúrio river waterfalls.
The District of Montepuez
Historical sites: Cabir (common grave of 11 militia soldiers killed by RENAMO on 12 February 1991), Ncoripo burial site of three traditional chiefs and one assistant (one of the graves contains the remains of two corpses).
Tourist attractions: Kambako Safaris, Negomano Safaris, Mapupulo dam.

The District of Namuno
Historical sites:
Machoca, the mission of Saint Mary of Namuno.
Tourist attractions: Pambara (sacred site), Ucula on the Lúrio river bank (scenic and recreational site), Natala waterfalls on the Muatage river (viewing of antelopes and monkeys), Ncumpe (elephant and buffalo).

The District of Balama
Historical sites:
Kwekwe and Namwetomoka dams.
Tourist attractions: Maço mountain (highest point in the province) – wildlife – elephant, buffalo, lion,antelopes), Chipembe (agricultural and cattle farming development projects)